Using Matminer with Spyder

Hello,

I am new to matminer, and i am slowly exploring its features.
However, I realised that it doesnt seem to work with Spyder IDE, which is what i mainly use for my work. After running any featurizer commands, there will be no output, and I suspect it is something to do with the display of the progress bar, which somehow doesnt work for Spyder.

Right now, I am working with jupyter notebook, but I wish to be able to use Spyder and would like to know if it is possible.

Thanks in advance.

Hey there!

I’ve used Spyder on Linux a little bit but have not had this problem. From a quick google search it seems problems with the progress bar (we use the fairly standard tqdm package) are fairly common:

To see whether this is a problem with tqdm or matminer, could you try disabling the progress bar option in matminer. You can do this by passing pbar=False when you featurize_dataframe(...) or featurize_many(...).

You can also test whether this is a tqdm problem with Spyder is to run a quick test:

import tqdm

for i in tqdm.tqdm(range(1000)):
    pass

There should be an output like:

100%|██████████| 1000/1000 [00:00<00:00, 2369663.28it/s]

If this doesn’t show up, the problem is with tqdm; else, the problem is with matminer.

If testing these things doesn’t resolve your problem, post your OS version, python version, and versions of matminer, tqdm, jupyter, etc. (you can get the package info from pip freeze or pip list.

Thanks and let us know!

• Alex

Hi Alex,

thanks for the suggestion, I’ve tried to test tqdm in Spyder and it works as intended.
I also tried to pass pbar=False in the argument for the featurizers but its still not working. There is no output and the code just runs forever in Spyder.

Just to check I also ran the " Matminer introduction - Predicting bulk modulus" commands in Spyder which resulted in the same issue; though they run fine in jupyter notebook.