Rocketsled: Predictor seems to always be RandomForestRegressor

Hello!

I am just getting started using Rocketsled and I have been running the basic and complex examples. I’ve noticed that no matter what I change the predictor to (random, extratreesregressor, GaussianProcessRegressor, etc) the output always says that RandomForestRegressor is used and when I view the plots, it seems that RandomForestRegressor is being used.

The line that I have been editing in complex.py is mc.configure(wf_creator = wf_creator, dimensions=x_dim, acq=“maxmin”, predictor = “GaussianProcessRegressor”,get_z=get_z). So I have 3 questions:

1. Am I changing the predictor in the wrong place?

2. Is there just a bug in the code that will always print RandomForestRegressor no matter what predictor is used or

3. is the program always using RandomForestRegressor no matter what I change the predictor to in that line?

Any advice on how to proceed is welcome.

Thanks in advance!

Haley Dozier

Hey Haley,

My first guess is that you are launching fireworks from previous “loops” and instead of running the “new” fireworks with other predictors, your are still running the “old” random forest regressor loop. At the end of each loop, rocketsled adds the next workflow to the launchpad, so even if you add another workflow after that, the wf that will be run is the first one added.

If you defuse the current rocketsled fireworks on the launchpad, then add the new ones and run, does the same thing happen?

Thanks,

Alex

···

On Fri, May 31, 2019 at 8:33 AM Haley Dozier [email protected] wrote:

Hello!

I am just getting started using Rocketsled and I have been running the basic and complex examples. I’ve noticed that no matter what I change the predictor to (random, extratreesregressor, GaussianProcessRegressor, etc) the output always says that RandomForestRegressor is used and when I view the plots, it seems that RandomForestRegressor is being used.