Multi-Element Pourbaix Diagram: Species Selection and Mass Balance

Hello,

I am a graduate student hoping to learn more about the generation of multi-element Pourbaix diagrams. Specifically, I was wondering how the selection of species is chosen for each stability region? Species selection was not clear to me upon looking at the documentation and wiki for Materials Project’s Pourbaix Diagrams App, and when looking up the paper by Thompson et al on Multi-Element Pourbaix diagrams listed as a reference. For an n element diagram, I understand that the species are chosen in combinations of n species such that the change in Gibbs energy is lowest for that combination of n species.

My problem comes from the choice of species combinations that satisfy the mass balance constraint. It seems as though there should always be a general way to write an equation that allows for mass balancing with larger or fractional combinations of elemental species, H+, e- and water species in addition to any products created. How is this mass balance constraint applied?

As an example, reactions that might be written for a multi-element Fe-Ni Pourabix diagram are:
(1) 2Fe + 3H2O = Fe2O3 + 6H+ + 6e-
(2) Ni + H2O = NiO + 2H+ + 2e-
where Fe and Ni are the reference species. When combined:
(3) 2Fe + Ni + 4H2O = NiO + Fe2O3 + 8H+ + 8e-

where equation 3 would allow us to asses the stability of the formation of an NiO + Fe2O3 phase in the multielement diagram. In a single element diagram, reaction 1 would be normalized for by dividing the energy by 2 so that the chemical potential at a specific (pH, potential) point is found per Fe. It seems that equation 3 would then be divided by 2 as well to normalize the equation. I’m sure that I’m not understanding the full implications of mass the mass balance constrain in this case, but am unsure where the issues lie. Thank you in advance for any help!

http://www.semos.dk/Per/41653/download/Pourbaix_multielement_systems.pdf

1 Like

Hi Lauren,